Floral Bathroom by Carmen Barasona

It is very rarely that I can truly appreciate a beaufully designed bathroom. Yes, there are a lot of them that look sleek, modern and stylish but I find they often lack character and personal touch to make them truly memorable and unique.

When I saw this design by Carmen Barasona from Spain exhibited during the recent Casa Decor 2012 in Madrid (the biggest Spanish event dedicated to architecture, interior design, and decoration) I was blown away. It is delicate, feminine and romantic without being over-the-top or tacky. The subtle, pale shades are not typical pastels and give this space joyful, whimsical feel. The large floral artwork also looks nothing like your conventional still-life print, but becomes more abstract in appearance. With its graceful finishes, floral injections throughout, and use of symmetry, this bathroom is just a standout.

A marriage of freestanding pieces including delicate bathtub, a large steel and orange lamp that casts warm light, and a simple wooden wash-basin table with ceramic sinks.

Bathroom details with floral motifs throughout.

Dual showers and wash basins. The sense of balance and symmetry has been embraced to make for a calming setting. Decoration elements include crystal vases of different sizes, shapes and colours.

Dual shower cabins have a retro feel.

A clean, fresh look has been achieved in the WC area by adding some green elements and keeping the decor very simple.

The use of symmetry and ceramic sinks in the kitchen/dining area.

Ceramic wash basin by Carmen Barasona.

*Source: Carmen Barasona, Decorablog

5 thoughts on “Floral Bathroom by Carmen Barasona

  1. Very good blog! Do you have any tips and hints for aspiring writers? I’m hoping to start my own site soon but I’m a little lost on everything. Would you propose starting with a free platform like WordPress or go for a paid option? There are so many options out there that I’m completely overwhelmed .. Any tips? Thanks!

    • Hi Rod!

      Thank you. As Stephen King says: the scariest moment is just before you start. I would suggest to go for WordPress for example, it’s very easy to use, and the themes look not too bad at all, although I already feel limited when it comes to customizing the design. Since I have no experience whatsover with HTML etc, I’m thinking of spending some money on a professional to create an interface I will be fully satisfied with. There will definitely be some changes as it frustrates me that I can only do as much.

      For a start, WordPress is good, I have no experience with other websites, I tried Blogger once, but I find the WordPress dashboard and overall look cleaner and more sophisticated. The important thing is that you have an idea for the content. As long as you know what you want to do and put your heart into it, and are regular with updating your blog, you will get into it and love it.

      Best,
      Joanna

Leave a Reply

